Home Politics Karnataka: 8 JD(S) MLAs cross-vote, Congress wins three Rajya Sabha seats, BJP will get one

Karnataka: 8 JD(S) MLAs cross-vote, Congress wins three Rajya Sabha seats, BJP will get one

Karnataka: 8 JD(S) MLAs cross-vote, Congress wins three Rajya Sabha seats, BJP will get one

Sharing is caring!

The ruling Congress celebration in Karnataka comfortably bagged three out of 4 Rajya Sabha seats from the state, whereas the BJP gained the fourth in a high-voltage election.

The winners included Union Commerce Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Congress candidates Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and Ok C Ramamurthy. Whereas events declared the variety of votes polled by their candidates, the Election Fee didn’t declare the ultimate outcomes. The ultimate EC announcement was delayed attributable to a grievance lodged by the JD(S) over alleged violation of guidelines by Congress leaders throughout voting Saturday.

“The ultimate end result shall be introduced after the state election fee consults with the central election fee,’’ stated Congress chief D Ok Shivakumar.


Watch Video: What’s making news


Nevertheless, regardless of speak of an in depth battle with the JD(S) for the fourth seat, Congress candidate and former IPS officer-turned-businessman Ok C Ramamurthy strolled to a straightforward win with 21 additional votes, because of cross-voting by eight JD(S) rebels and the help of 9 Independents and 4 members of minor events. The Congress had assigned 31 of its MLAs to vote for Ramamurthy (63). Garnering the help of 52 of the 224 MLAs within the Meeting, he gained probably the most first choice votes.

Congress leaders Ramesh and Fernandes polled the precise variety of votes — 47 and 46, respectively — allotted to them by celebration’s state unit from the 124 MLAs in its kitty. Sitharaman additionally bought the 47 votes assigned to her by the state BJP unit, which included 44 BJP MLAs and three affiliated members.

Businessman and JD(S) candidate B M Farookh managed solely 33 votes regardless of the JD(S) having a energy of 40 within the Meeting. Eight JD(S) MLAs — Zameer Ahmed, Cheluvarayaswamy, Balakrishna HC, Akhanda Sreenivasmurthy, Y Gopalaiah, Bheema Naik, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda and Iqbal Ansari — have been recognized as cross-voters by celebration spokesman Ramesh Babu.

The JD(S) is ready to carry a gathering Sunday with state president H D Kumaraswamy saying motion shall be initiated towards the insurgent MLAs. “Dissidence has occurred. The nationwide president (former PM H D Deve Gowda) will take mandatory motion. A call shall be taken Sunday…We’ve to cease the cancer from spreading,’’ stated Kumaraswamy.

Accusing Congress of defeating a Muslim candidate, he stated: “Who has prompted the lack of a Muslim candidate? Muslims ought to perceive how their group is being misused by their very own folks. The Congress says secular forces should unite, however then does this.”

Ramamurthy, who gained with help of JD(S) rebels, replaces businessman Vijay Mallya, who gained in 2010 as an Unbiased with the backing of the JD(S) and the BJP.

Whereas Fernandes was re-elected to Rajya Sabha from the state, Ramesh replaces the BJP’s Ayanur Manjunath. The BJP nominated Sitharaman instead of Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu, who moved to Rajasthan on account of a social media marketing campaign towards his candidacy for a fourth time period from Karnataka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.