Home Politics Rajasthan: BJP sweeps all 4 seats, Venkaiah Naidu luggage Rajya Sabha berth

Rajasthan: BJP sweeps all 4 seats, Venkaiah Naidu luggage Rajya Sabha berth

Rajasthan: BJP sweeps all 4 seats, Venkaiah Naidu luggage Rajya Sabha berth

Sharing is caring!

The BJP bagged all 4 Rajya Sabha seats from Rajasthan in Saturday’s election that noticed Congress-backed Impartial candidate Kamal Morarka defeated. The successful candidates from the BJP included Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu, occasion’s nationwide vice-president Om Prakash Mathur, retired RBI officer Ramkumar Verma and Harshvardhan Singh of the Dungarupur royal household.

Going into the polls, BJP stated it had 166 votes — 160 of its personal, 4 Independents and two of the Nationwide Unionist Zamindara Social gathering (NUZP) MLAs Kamini Jindal and Sonadevi. Sources stated that whereas Kamini Jindal voted for the BJP, Sonadevi’s vote was rejected.

In a Home of 200, each Naidu and Mathur bagged 42 first choice votes, whereas Singh and Verma obtained 40 votes every. Morarka managed solely 34 votes.

Of Morarka’s 34, 24 got here from the Congress, 4 from the Nationwide Folks’s Social gathering (NPP), two from BSP and 4 Independents. On Friday, the Rajasthan Excessive Courtroom had dismissed jailed BSP MLA B L Kushwah’s petition to be allowed to vote.

In accordance with BJP sources, the occasion had deliberate a 43 votes every for Naidu and Mathur. With Sonadevi’s vote being rejected, there was cross-voting of at the very least one vote from the BJP camp, they stated.

Enjoying down the discuss of cross-voting , senior Cupboard minister and a detailed aide of CM Raje, Rajendra Rathore, stated: “Now we have 160 MLAs, so something above it reveals our power. Social gathering candidates garnering a complete of 164 votes reveals that the occasion MLAs reposed their religion within the CM.”

BJP state president Ashok Parnami added: “Sonadevi’s vote was rejected whereas sources say that Impartial MLA Nandkishore Maharia voted for Morarka. All our MLAs voted for us.”

Chief of Opposition Rameshwar Dudi was the primary to forged his vote, adopted by Congress MLAs, and subsequently by BJP MLAs, who had been introduced on to the Meeting from the resort the place they had been saved for the previous couple of days. Morarka’s proposer, Impartial MLA Anju Devi Dhanka, turned as much as vote with Parnami.

“Morarka had initially contacted me and I grew to become his proposer. However on Saturday, he didn’t name…So, I used to be in two minds whether or not to vote or not…BJP stated that no matter work I’ve, they are going to help me. Therefore, I voted for them,” stated Dhanka, who was the final to vote after at 3 pm.

Congress state president Sachin Pilot informed The Indian Express, “The numbers had been clear from day and the BJP hoped to get a walkover however our function was to be an lively opposition. And merely our help to an Impartial candidate rattled and unnerved BJP a lot that they saved their very own MLAs beneath lock and key. We obtained 34 votes and therefore this additionally reveals that the opposition is collectively.”

Whereas Impartial MLA Rajkumar Sharma had claimed that NUZP MLAs felt threatened by raids carried out to look their nationwide president B D Agarwal in an outdated case, occasion MLA Kamini Jindal stated, “There was no stress on us. We prolonged help on the situation that our constituencies get due consideration from the ruling occasion.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.